1. Home
  2. Docs
  3. Web Technology I
  4. Markup Language (HTML)
  5. HTML 5


Here is the description of HTML 5:

  • HTML5 is the latest version of the Hypertext Markup Language, which is the standard language for creating and structuring content on the World Wide Web.
  • HTML5 introduces new elements, attributes, and features that enhance the capabilities of web pages and applications.
  • It is designed to provide better support for multimedia, improve the structure of documents, and enable richer user experiences.

Here are some key features and elements introduced in HTML5:

  1. <header>:
    • Represents a header section or a group of introductory content.
  2. <footer>:
    • Represents a footer section or a group of closing content.
  3. <nav>:
    • Represents a navigation menu.
  4. <article>:
    • Represents an independent piece of content that can be reused and distributed.
  5. <section>:
    • Represents a generic section of a document.
  6. <aside>:
    • Represents content that is tangentially related to the content around it.
  7. <main>:
    • Represents the main content of the document. It replaces the need for <div id="main">.
  1. <audio>:
    • Embeds audio content on a web page.
  2. <video>:
    • Embeds video content on a web page.
  3. <source>:
    • Specifies multiple media resources for <audio> and <video> elements, allowing for different formats or resolutions.
  1. <canvas>:
    • Provides a drawing surface for graphics and animations using JavaScript.
  2. <details>:
    • Represents a disclosure widget from which the user can obtain additional information.
  3. <summary>:
    • Represents a summary, caption, or legend for a <details> element.
  4. <progress>:
    • Represents the progress of a task.
  5. <output>:
    • Represents the result of a calculation or user action.
  1. <input> with New Types:
    • New input types include date, email, url, number, range, and more.
  2. <textarea> with maxlength:
    • Allows specifying the maximum number of characters in a textarea.
  3. <datalist>:
    • Provides a list of predefined options for an <input> element.
  1. <meta charset="UTF-8">:
    • Declares the character encoding for the document.
  2. <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1.0">:
    • Helps in making web pages responsive to different device sizes.
  1. <font>, <center>, <strike>:
    • Some older elements have been deprecated in favor of more modern alternatives.

How can we help?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *